Deflection

Dickerson: Let me ask you about, what does the Mexican heritage of the judge in the Trump University case have to do with anything?

[minutes of unrelated word salad]

Dickerson: No, no, for him, how do his Mexican parents have to do with him not ruling for you?

Trump: He is a member of a club or society, very strongly pro-Mexican, which is all fine. But I say he’s got bias. I want to build a wall. I’m going to build a wall. I’m doing very well with the Latinos, with the Hispanics, with the Mexicans, I’m doing very well with them, in my opinion. And we’re going to see, you’re going to see, because you know what, I’m providing jobs. Nobody else is giving jobs. But just so you understand, this judge has treated me very unfairly, he’s treated me in a hostile manner. And there’s something going on.

– President Donald J. Trump, June 5, 2016, when asked how Indiana-born Gonzolo Curiel’s parents’ Mexican heritage biases him against Trump

